• amanda0195

European Unity


  • Benelux: formed by Belgium, Netherlands and Luxembourg


  • United Nations created.

  • Five permanent voting members: U.S., U.K., France, China (Taiwan until 1970s) and U.S.S.R.


  • Truman Doctrine

  • Written in response to Communist threats in Turkey and Greece


  • Marshall Plan

  • U.S. sent economic aid to Europe (only Western Europe accepted) in order to help and encourage European countries to resist Communism, remain allies of U.S. and recover economically so they could become trading partners with U.S.

  • Americans urged Europeans to develop a free-trade zone like states in U.S.


  • Berlin Blockade/Airlift (1948-1949)

  • East Germans blocked access to West Berlin, US airlifted aid

  • Encouraged Western nations to create NATO

  • GATTGeneral Agreement on Tariffs and Trade

  • Signatories agreed to reduce tariffs and negotiated during UN Conference on Trade and Employment.

  • Signed by 23 nations in Geneva (Oct. 1947)

  • Took effect Jan. 1948


  • NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

  • Military alliance against Soviet Union

  • Western European nations, U.S. and Canada


  • Encourage by Marshall Plan, countries move toward economic integration

  • French-German Coal and Steel Authority

  • ​Removed tariff barriers and managed coal and steel resources regionally

  • Created by Jean Monnet

  • Schuman Declaration

  • By French foreign minister Robert Schuman and Jean Monnet

  • Proposed creation of European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC)

  • Members would pool coal and steel production.

  • Aim was to make war between historic rivals France and Germany “not merely unthinkable, but materially impossible.”


  • Treaty of Paris: established European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC).

  • Six countries joined: Fr. Germany, Benelux, Italy.

  • High Authority to manage the coal and steel industries and the Common Assembly

  • Precursor to European parliament.

  • Jean Monnet headed the organization from 1952-1955.


  • European Economic Community (EEC)/Common Market

  • Same six nations as ECSC established EEC through Treaty of Rome

  • Ended tariff barriers, cut restrictions on flow of labor and capital, integrated economics of member nations.


  • European Community (EC)

  • EEC combined with other cooperative bodies to form European Community (EC) to work toward greater economic and political integration with hope that organizations would make Europe powerful enough economically and politically to challenge U.S. and U.S.S.R.


  • Treaty of European Union/Maastricht Treaty

  • Ratified Dec. 1991 by EC states in Maastricht, Netherlands.

  • Signed Feb. 1992.

  • Entered into force Nov. 1993.

  • Established a European Union (EU) with citizenship given to every citizen of a member state.

  • All could vote and run for office in the EU country in which they lived, regardless of nationality.

  • Also created a central banking system and a common currency (the euro).

  • Countries also had to cooperate on security issues, the environment and social policies.


  • Euro

  • Introduced as European monetary unit in 1999

  • Currency notes and coins appeared 2002 and became sole currency of 12 EU member states (not UK, Denmark or Sweden)

  • Symbol from Greek epsilon

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alien and Sedition Acts Passed by John Adams 1820-1860 Irish immigration Irish potato famine Many were Catholic German immigrants Most to midwest to buy farms in Milwaukee, St. Louis, Cincinnati 1849

1400S 1453 Ottoman Empire takes Constantinople End of Hundred Years War 1469 Isabella and Ferdinand get married uniting Castile and Aragon 1488 Bartholomeu Dias sails around the Cape of Good Hope 1492